All the Fits That's News
Mysterious Goings On
Riding the Rails with Ed Davis
0:00
-31:55

Riding the Rails with Ed Davis

Before the current boom in “van life” and nomadic living, author Ed Davis rode the rails – hopping boxcars and freight trains – from Reno to Vancouver, through the Sierras and up and down the Golden State. As a young man, he lived on $5 a day, worked as a carny, and even slept under the same bridge Kerouac once did. Living as a part-time hobo, he and his friends - the “knights of the road” - experienced a world that no longer exists. Those treks across the country eventually led Ed to become a successful businessman, a champion discus thrower, and a loving husband to his wife, Jan, who on occasion had even hopped the trains with him.

From this uniquely American experience, Davis brings us his latest novel The Last Professional (January 25, 2022 – Artemesia Publishing), a compelling story of two men linked by a yearning to explore and experience a simpler way of living. In the vein of Kerouac and London, Davis paints a rich tapestry of life on the move where adventure is truly just a freight car away. Listen in!

Buy the book here. Visit his website: EdDavisbooks.com.

Check out the Kirkus Review of PILATE'S FAITH, Alex's latest: https://www.kirkusreviews.com/book-reviews/j-alexander-greenwood/pilates-faith/
Order PILATE'S FAITH: https://amzn.to/3DWhyos. Buy Alex Greenwood's books on Amazon.com.

Opening and closing announcer: Mary McKenna. Listen to her guest appearance on the show here. You should hire Mary for your voiceover needs. Contact her at mmckennakc(at)gmail.com. Original outro theme music "Mysterious Goings On" by Jamie Green. Want your own cool score for your podcast or website? Contact Jamie at Greenhouse Consulting. Check out Jamie's interview on the show here.

This episode of the Mysterious Goings On Podcast was recorded and mixed at Green Shebeen Studios in beautiful Kansas City, Missouri. Copyright 2022, all rights reserved. No reproduction, excerpting, or other use without written permission.

We are an Amazon Associates seller, some of our links may earn us a commission.

--- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/j-alexander-greenwood/message

0 Comments
All the Fits That's News
Mysterious Goings On
Become a Paid Subscriber: <a href="https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/j-alexander-greenwood/subscribe" rel="ugc noopener noreferrer" target="_blank">https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/j-alexander-greenwood/subscribe</a> We take on the mysteries of creativity, writing, and more every week. Listen in and find out why Mysterious Goings On with J. Alexander Greenwood is a favorite show for top-selling authors, leading creative thinkers, and people making a difference in our society. Named a 2022 Top 5 Literature Podcast by CrowdUltra and an Apple Podcasts "New &amp; Noteworthy" show in 2016, MGO is also a 2019 People's Choice Podcast Awards nominee. Host J. Alexander Greenwood is an award-winning writer, public relations consultant, speaker, and former radio host and journalist.